top of page
作家相片Sheu Suki

CharacterCollision

As my main character is very small but it can change to human character. Their capsule components are totally different. When I change the character, the capsule component will inherit to my main character. Therefore, the upper part of human character can't have a collision with other things.

Before talking the collision, I want to remind a stupid things. Before, there is no problem when I change character. They can both stand on land. However, after I change the texture of slime. My human character cant land on ground. After a very long time test. I find the problem because of the model of Slime.

Please remember that the model needs to land on (0, 0). Before, my slime's middle part is on (0, 0).

_________________________________________________________________

# Character Collsion

I waste two days for this parts =.=...

Maybe it is not normally to chang two characters with big different in size. I cant really find a good tutorials. So, I also try different functions by myself, but I am new to unreal, most of the function I dont know and dont know how to use.

Finally, I find a tutor that I dont think it can help though looking the cover of the video. But it concept works. (OMG, spent me two days! Why I ignore it before!)


How To Setup Prone Collision On UE4 Character


First, I need to turn on the simulate physics from the Capsule Component.

Then, adding a component with collision. Remember the details of to transform which the collision part I hope.

Also, there is some changing on collision which shown as the photo.


Then, make it . If no, the character may not move or have other bug. (I jump some parts of the video and I miss it before)

Then, set relative Scale 3D and set relative Location (Actually, there are some similar setting I can change. Change it by follow what you need)

_________________________________________________________________

Before, I nearly give up this fuction. So I have try another function instead. It is press a button to change player directly. (The position of the character will different, it really not I want)

It may useful, so I record it. (Write it in Level Blueprint)


_________________________________________________________________________

#Update (26/11/22)


I found that the collision box not need to cover whole body. It is works by only cover the important part. I continue to try this function because I found that it is unnatural when the character collides with other assets when she is jumping. This is because there are collision box under her jumping area. Therefore, I move upwards the box.


Before, I also used a box for character collision, however, a problem occurs when the character walks on a ladder. Therefore, I changed to a capsule. However, now I find that it does not need to cover the whole body, so I change back to a box. One more reason to use a box is that I can set the width and length in different sizes. If I use a capsule, my character can't walk into the mushroom. If I decrease the size of the capsule, because of my animation setting, she will sink into too many assets.








Commenti


bottom of page